NOW WRITE! NONFICTION CONTRIBUTORS

Meet the master practitioners of memoir, journalism and creative nonfiction who contributed exercises to Now Write! Nonfiction.

Contributors WITH SAMPLE exercise

Paul Lisicky is the author of Lawnboy and Famous Builder.  He’s taught in the graduate writing programs at Cornell, Sarah Lawrence, Fairfield, and Antioch Los Angeles.  He currently teaches at NYU and in the MFA program at Rutgers-Newark.  He has two books forthcoming: The Burning House (novel, 2011) and Unbuilt Projects (short prose pieces, 2012). Download his exercise: On Propriety, Or The Fear Of Looking Foolish.

Malina Saval is a journalist, writer and the author of the non-fiction book The Secret Lives of Boys, which was inspired by a single line of dialogue uttered by one of her male, teenage students. She lives with her husband, son and daughter, and their two dogs in Los Angeles, California. Download her exercise: Permission to Eavesdrop.

All Contributors – with site links if available

Marilyn Abildskov

Dianne Aprile

Reza Aslan rezaaslan.com

Robert Atwan Wiki page

Lynne Barrett lynne.barrett.googlepages.com

Jocelyn Bartkevicus

Ishmael Beah alongwaygone.com

Madeline Blais Wiki page

Jenny Boully jennyboully.blogspot.com

Gwendolyn Bounds gwendolynbounds.com

Neal Bowers nealbowers.com

Barrie Jean Borich barriejeanborich.net

Janet Burroway janetburroway.com

Joy Castro joycastro.com

Leah Hager Cohen leahhagercohen.com

Kathryn Deputant

Bruce Dobler Wiki page

Samantha Dunn samanthadunn.biz

Hope  Edelman hopeedelman.com

Rebecca Blevens Faery

Celeste Fremon witnessla.com

Philip Gerard philipgerard.com

Denise Gess

David Gessner davidgessner.com

Cecile Goding

Philip Graham uiuc.ed faculty page

Lee Gutkind leegutkind.com

Robin Hemley robinhemley.com

Christine Hemp christinehemp.com

Marcie Hershman

Richard Hoffman abbington.com/hoffman/

Barbara Hurd barbarahurd.com

Jay Kirk

Judith Kitchen judithkitchen.com

Carl Klaus carlklaus.com

Lisa Knopp lisaknopp.com

Sydney Lea www.sydneylea.net

Gretchen Legler umf maine faculty page

Leslie Lehr leslielehr.com

Robert Leleux robertleleux.com

Paul Lisicky paullisicky.blogspot.com

Tom Lutz Wiki page

Eric Maisel ericmaisel.com

Carole Maso Wiki page

John Matteson Wiki page

Tilar Mazzeo tilar-mazzeo.com

Shara McCallum Wiki page

Rebecca McClanahan mcclanmuse.com

Fritz McDonald www.create20.com

Michael McGregor

Christopher Merrill christophermerrillbooks.com

Brenda Miller

Dinty Moore dintywmoore.com

Honor Moore honormoore.com

Maureen Murdock

Daniel Nester www.danielnester.com

Lia Purpura liapurpura.com

Hilda Raz hildaraz.com

Kathryn Rhett

Robert Root rootwriting.com

Malina Saval malinasaval.com

Brandon Schrand brandonrschrand.com

Mimi Schwartz mimischwartz.net

Sandra Scofield

Mary Kay Shanley marykayshanley.com

Suzanne Strempek Shea suzannestrempekshea.com

Ashley Shelby millcitywriters.com

Sue Silverman suewilliamsilverman.com

Natalia Rachel Singer nataliarachelsinger.org

Myra Sklarew Wiki page

Kathleen Spivack kathleenspivack.com

Michael Steinberg mjsteinberg.net

Reine Steinke Wiki page

Laurie Stone

Ned Stuckey-French faculty page

Ira Sukrungruang sukrungruang.com

Gay Talese official site

Susan Tiberghien susantiberghien.com

Thrity Umrigar umrigar.com

David Vann davidvann.com

Kathryn Watterson

Sandy Wisenberg slwisenberg.blogspot.com

Ira Wood irawood.com

Xu Xi xuxiwriter.com

Comments are closed.