Now Write! Fiction Contributors

Each of the talented contributors have something unique to offer with their Now Write! exercise. You’re invited to explore, enjoy and become inspired by their work.

Contributors WITH SAMPLE exercise

Lauren Grodstein is the author of A Friend of the Family, a Washington Post Book of the Year, a New York Times Editor’s Choice, and an Spotlight Pick. She is also the author of the novel Reproduction is the Flaw of Love and the story collection The Best of Animals. She teaches creative writing at the MFA program at Rutgers-Camden.  Download her exercise: The Interview.

Crystal Wilkinson is the author of Water Street, which was a finalist for both the Orange Prize and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award in Fiction, and Blackberries, Blackberries. Her writing also received the 2002 Chaffin Award for Appalachian Literature.  She teaches creative writing and literature in the M.F.A. program at Indiana University-Bloomington. Download her exercise: Birth of a Story in an Hour or Less.

Porter Shreve is the author of three novels: The Obituary Writer, Drives Like a Dream, and When the White House Was Ours. Co-editor of six anthologies, he directs the creative writing program at Purdue University. Download his exercise: Seven Drafts In Seven Days.

All Contributors – with site links if available

Chris Abani

Diana Abu-Jaber

Jonis Agee

Steve Almond

Tony Ardizzone

Tom Averill

Lynne Barrett Wiki page

Rachel Basch

Douglas Bauer

Geoffrey Becker Wiki page

Karen Bender Wiki page

Venise Berry

Amy Bloom

Robert Boswell

Karen Brennan

Michelle Brooks

Rosellen Brown

Chris Busa

Robert Olen Butler

Tania Casselle

Chris Castellani

Dan Chaon

Alexander Chee

Maxine Chernoff Wiki page

Robert Cohen

K.L. Cook

Martha Cooley author page

Michael Datcher author page

Nina de Gramont

Kathryn Deputat

Clyde Edgerton

Cai Emmons

Maria Flook Wiki page

Laurie Foos

Kirby Gann

Elizabeth Graver

Lauren Grodstein

Lisa Haines

Sands Hall

Emily Hanlon

Ann Harleman RISD faculty page

Michelle Herman

Jim Heymen

Rick Hillis Wiki page

Brett Anthony Johnson

Daphne Kalotay

David Michael Kaplan Wiki page

Laurie Kasischke author page

Brian Kitely

Sheila Kohler

Fred Leebron

Joan Leegant

Paul Lisicky

Margot Livesey

Alison Lurie

Renee Manfredi

Alice Mattison

Jill McCorkle

Maureen McCoy

Edie Meidav

Paula Morris

Sean Murphy

Lon Otto

Joy Passanante

Jayne Anne Phillips

Eileen Pollack

Patricia Powell Wiki page

Nancy Reisman author page

Victoria Redel

Leslie Schwartz

Steven Schwartz

Sandra Scofield Wiki page

Elizabeth Searle

Porter Shreve

Robert Siegel

Joan Silber Wiki page

Kay Sloan

John Smolens


Debra Spark

Brent Spencer

Kathleen Spivack

Virgil Suárez Wiki page

Douglas Unger

Katherine Vaz

Susan Vreeland

Dan Wakefield

Chuck Watchel

Mary Yukari Waters author page

Crystal Wilkinson