Now Write! Fiction Contributors

Each of the talented contributors have something unique to offer with their Now Write! exercise. You’re invited to explore, enjoy and become inspired by their work.

Contributors WITH SAMPLE exercise

Lauren Grodstein is the author of A Friend of the Family, a Washington Post Book of the Year, a New York Times Editor’s Choice, and an Amazon.com Spotlight Pick. She is also the author of the novel Reproduction is the Flaw of Love and the story collection The Best of Animals. She teaches creative writing at the MFA program at Rutgers-Camden.  Download her exercise: The Interview.

Crystal Wilkinson is the author of Water Street, which was a finalist for both the Orange Prize and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award in Fiction, and Blackberries, Blackberries. Her writing also received the 2002 Chaffin Award for Appalachian Literature.  She teaches creative writing and literature in the M.F.A. program at Indiana University-Bloomington. Download her exercise: Birth of a Story in an Hour or Less.

Porter Shreve is the author of three novels: The Obituary Writer, Drives Like a Dream, and When the White House Was Ours. Co-editor of six anthologies, he directs the creative writing program at Purdue University. Download his exercise: Seven Drafts In Seven Days.

All Contributors – with site links if available

Chris Abani chrisabani.com

Diana Abu-Jaber dianaabujaber.com

Jonis Agee mockingbird.creighton.edu/NCW/agee.htm

Steve Almond stevenalmond.com

Tony Ardizzone Indiana.edu/~girgenti/

Tom Averill Washburn.edu/cas/english/taverill

Lynne Barrett Wiki page

Rachel Basch rachelbasch.com

Douglas Bauer

Geoffrey Becker Wiki page

Karen Bender Wiki page

Venise Berry veniseberry.com

Amy Bloom amybloom.com

Robert Boswell robertboswell.com

Karen Brennan

Michelle Brooks

Rosellen Brown rosellenbrown.com

Chris Busa provincetownarts.org

Robert Olen Butler robertolenbutler.com

Tania Casselle tcwriter.com

Chris Castellani chriscastellani.com

Dan Chaon danchaon.com

Alexander Chee alexanderchee.net

Maxine Chernoff Wiki page

Robert Cohen

K.L. Cook klcook.net

Martha Cooley hachettebookgroup.com author page

Michael Datcher penguingroup.com author page

Nina de Gramont ninadegramont.com

Kathryn Deputat claritywork.com

Clyde Edgerton clydedgerton.com

Cai Emmons caiemmons.com

Maria Flook Wiki page

Laurie Foos lauriefoos.com

Kirby Gann kirbygann.net

Elizabeth Graver elizabethgraver.com

Lauren Grodstein laurengrodstein.com

Lisa Haines lisehaines.com

Sands Hall sandshall.com

Emily Hanlon emilyhanlon.com

Ann Harleman RISD faculty page

Michelle Herman michelleherman.com

Jim Heymen

Rick Hillis Wiki page

Brett Anthony Johnson bretanthonyjohnston.com

Daphne Kalotay daphnekalotay.com

David Michael Kaplan Wiki page

Laurie Kasischke harpercollins.com author page

Brian Kitely du.edu/~bkiteley/advice.html

Sheila Kohler sheilakohler.com

Fred Leebron

Joan Leegant joanleegant.com

Paul Lisicky paullisicky.com

Margot Livesey margotlivesey.com

Alison Lurie alisonlurie.com

Renee Manfredi

Alice Mattison alicemattison.com

Jill McCorkle www.jillmccorkle.com

Maureen McCoy maureenmccoy.net

Edie Meidav ediemeidav.com

Paula Morris

Sean Murphy murphyzen.com

Lon Otto

Joy Passanante

Jayne Anne Phillips jayneannephillips.com

Eileen Pollack eileenpollack.com

Patricia Powell Wiki page

Nancy Reisman randomhouse.com author page

Victoria Redel victoriaredel.com

Leslie Schwartz leslieschwartz.com

Steven Schwartz

Sandra Scofield Wiki page

Elizabeth Searle elizabethsearle.net

Porter Shreve portershreve.com

Robert Siegel robertanthonysiegel.com

Joan Silber Wiki page

Kay Sloan

John Smolens johnsmolens.com

 

Debra Spark colby.edu/personal/d/daspark/publications.html

Brent Spencer

Kathleen Spivack kathleenspivack.com

Virgil Suárez Wiki page

Douglas Unger douglasunger.com

Katherine Vaz katherinevaz.com

Susan Vreeland svreeland.com

Dan Wakefield danwakefield.com

Chuck Watchel

Mary Yukari Waters simonandschuster.com author page

Crystal Wilkinson crystal-wilkinson.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.